Explain various models of happiness.

Happiness is a complex and multifaceted concept, and various models have been proposed to explain the different dimensions and factors that contribute to human happiness. These models often represent different perspectives and theories on what makes people happy. Here are some of the prominent models of happiness:

1. Hedonic Happiness:
The hedonic model of happiness is one of the oldest and most straightforward models. It is based on the idea that happiness is derived from the pursuit of pleasure and the avoidance of pain. This model suggests that people seek positive emotions and experiences while minimizing negative ones. It emphasizes the role of pleasure, joy, and satisfaction in contributing to overall happiness.

2. Eudaimonic Happiness:
The eudaimonic model of happiness focuses on living a meaningful and purposeful life. It is derived from the ancient Greek concept of eudaimonia, which means “flourishing” or “well-being.” According to this model, happiness is achieved by pursuing personal growth, self-realization, and fulfilling one’s potential. It involves engaging in activities that align with one’s values and lead to a sense of fulfillment and purpose.

3. PERMA Model:
Developed by psychologist Martin Seligman, the PERMA model is a comprehensive theory of well-being that encompasses various elements of happiness. PERMA stands for Positive emotions, Engagement, Relationships, Meaning, and Accomplishment. This model suggests that individuals experience lasting happiness when they have positive emotions, are engaged in activities that provide flow and absorption, maintain meaningful relationships, find purpose and meaning in life, and achieve their goals.


Read more : eGyanKosh: Semester-I



4. Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs:
Psychologist Abraham Maslow proposed a hierarchy of human needs, with happiness being the ultimate goal. According to Maslow, individuals must fulfill their basic physiological and safety needs before moving up the hierarchy to satisfy psychological and self-fulfillment needs. The top level of the hierarchy, self-actualization, represents achieving one’s full potential and experiencing true happiness.

5. Subjective Well-Being:
Subjective Well-Being (SWB) is a prominent model used to assess and measure happiness. It combines cognitive and affective components of happiness. Cognitive well-being refers to an individual’s overall evaluation of their life satisfaction, while affective well-being relates to their emotional experiences and moods. SWB incorporates both these aspects to provide a comprehensive measure of happiness and life quality.

6. Dual-Process Theory:
The Dual-Process Theory suggests that there are two main pathways to happiness: the “experiencing self” and the “remembering self.” The experiencing self is focused on the present moment and the intensity of positive experiences in real-time. The remembering self, on the other hand, looks back on memories and evaluates overall life satisfaction based on past experiences. Both aspects contribute to an individual’s sense of happiness and well-being.

It’s essential to note that these models are not mutually exclusive, and elements from different models can interact to influence an individual’s happiness. Moreover, cultural, societal, and individual differences can also play a significant role in shaping the experience and understanding of happiness.

Leave a Reply